Innovation Award

Type 1 Diabetes
Type 1 Diabetes Research

JDRF and the Macquarie Group Foundation continue their support of excellence and innovation in type 1 diabetes research with the Diabetes Global Research Innovation Awards. This Award will recognise international researchers who can impact innovation, influence research advances and foster international collaboration in the field of type 1 diabetes and its complications.

The Award

The winner will receive up to AUD$5000 to independently undertake short-term (up to 4 weeks) research that will influence their approach in addressing the focus of their work. The collaborating research group can be Australian or international, and must provide the winner with the necessary skills and expertise to further their research.

Examples of such work may include, but is not restricted to:

  • Learning new research techniques at a collaborating research group
  • Presenting research in domestic or international institutions, that will create or build upon relationships between research groups
  • Undertaking research in a collaborating group that is renowned for its specialised work


  • This Award is open only to applicants conducting their research outside of Australia.
  • Applicants must be appropriately qualified (PhD, MB BS or equivalent).
  • Applicants must hold a current position at an approved institution or organisation the time of application

Assessment Criteria

The Diabetes Research Innovation Awards encourages the establishment of new connections between the participating research groups to build an international network of researchers focused on developing innovative therapies for people with type 1 diabetes.

All applicants are evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Quality of the research, its relevance to the global JDRF research priorities and ability to contribute towards improving the lives of people with type 1 diabetes
  • Quality of the applicant and their potential to gain prominence in influencing the field of type 1 diabetes research
  • Value of the award in contributing towards improving the applicant’s skills and expertise for innovative research advances in type 1 diabetes.

The Awards are reviewed by a panel of eminent medical researchers in the field of type 1 diabetes and representatives of the type 1 diabetes community.


Applications Are open year-round and will be reviewed periodically.

Download Application Form

Previous Award Winners

Australian Award Winner: Dr Stuart Mannering, St Vincent's Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne, Australia

Dr Stuart Mannering
Dr Stuart Mannering

The focus of Dr Mannering’s research is to develop immune-therapies to prevent or treat type 1 diabetes (T1D). He seeks to identify the targets on β-cells that cause T-cells to identify them as a threat. He has recently discovered that these T-cells recognise “proinsulin”, insulin’s precursor.  The next stage of this research is to find out what the T-cells do next that causes β-cells to be destroyed.

This award will allow Dr Mannering to visit three international laboratories noted for innovative T1D and immune-based research. There, he will learn new and innovative techniques for studying T-cell responses and build important international collaborations which will further his research into this important area. 

Read more about Dr Stuart Mannering here.

International Award Winner: Dr Hanna Skärstrand, Lund University Diabetes Centre, Malmo, Sweden

Dr Hanna Skärstrand
Dr Hanna Skärstrand

"My dissertation last year identified that a genetic mutation on a protein (known as ZnT8) changes its shape, making it easier for the ZnT8 autoantibodies to bind to the protein, which could be part of the reason for changes in the immune response. I never thought my projects would continue though, and it’s with thanks to JDRF and winning this Innovation Award that I have been able to continue with this study."

"Since winning the award, we have established a new collaboration between our team of type 1 diabetes researchers at Lund University, Sweden and the Autoimmunity Research Laboratory lead by Dr Michael W Jackson at the Department of Immunology at Flinders University, South Australia. I am incredibly excited to kick-start the collaboration by visiting their lab in mid-March. We hope that this will lead to new insights about the origin of the ZnT8 autoantibodies and their possible role in the ongoing autoimmune response."

Read more about Dr Hanna Skarstrand here.